Posts Tagged ‘award’

The 2012 NAHA Awards

by Claire Aviles on Wednesday, June 27th, 2012

Jose Julian Macias Navarro-NAHA Finalist: Texture / Photographer: Sergio Castro

This month, the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) will celebrate the top hairstylists and beauty professionals in the industry.

NAHA, which will be held in Las Vegas on July 22, is the most prestigious photographic beauty competition in North America. Individuals are recognized in thirteen different categories, from Newcomer of the Year and Avant-Garde to one of our favorites, Texture.

E! News anchor Giuliana Rancic, named the 2012 PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Honoree, will host the NAHA Awards Ceremony this year. “I am thrilled to host the 2012 North American Hairstyling Awards,” Rancic said. “Beauty professionals are at the heart of making people look and feel their best, and I’m excited to be a part of this amazing event,” says Giuliana.

NAHA is part of PBA Beauty Week, North America’s most inclusive beauty event, offering networking, education and professional growth opportunities to all sectors of the beauty industry. PBA Beauty Week is produced by the Professional Beauty Association and is held in cooperation with Cosmoprof North America.

Check out the NAHA website to see more amazing photographs. You can also find information about attending the event.

Following is a list of the NAHA categories and finalists.

Chrystofer Benson and Tawnya Nelson
Nicholas French
Jose Julian Macias Navarro
Jake Thompson
Chris Vandehey

Contemporary Classic
Dimitrios Tsioumas
Daniel Holzberger
Nick Stenson
Rusty Phillips
Sal Misseri

Editorial Hairstylist of the Year
Charlie Price
Vivienne Mackinder and Sue Pemberton
Steve Elias
Neeko Abriol
Michael Albor and Donna Hamilton

Dimitrios Tsioumas
Nick Stenson
Chad Demchuk
Sue Pemberton
Jacqueline Sanchez

Hairstylist of the Year
Allen Ruiz
Liz Nevin
DJ Riggs
Dimitrios Tsioumas
Alain Pereque

Make-Up Artist of the Year
Clarissa Luna
Jeanne San Diego
Ericka Brannon
Sevan Tatoulian
David Maderich

Master Hairstylist of the Year
Edwin Johnston
Tony Ricci
Dusty Simington
Anna Pacitto
Eric Fisher

Newcomer of the Year
Valeria Amirova
Sal Misseri
Ray Hornback
Jasmine Gibbs
Nick Hemsley

Salon Design of the Year
Headlines The Salon
Ginger Bay Salon & Spa
Square Colour Salon + Spa
Bespoke Hair Artisans
Studio So Lara

Salon MBA
Rejuvenation Spa
Gila Rut Salon
Mane Attraction Salon
Zazou Salon & Spa

Salon Team of the Year
Lunatic Fringe Salon
A Michael Levine Salon Group
HAUS Salon
Salon Keiji

Student Hairstylist of the Year
Nicole Higgens
Quinn Sorensen
Alisha Sutch
Cameron Jones
Cassandra Monteyro

Liz Nevin
Jasmine Gibbs
Amy Freudenberg
Jose Julian Macias Navarro
Richie Roman

Paul Mitchell’s DeJoria Honored

by Staff on Tuesday, October 27th, 2009

John Paul DeJoria

John Paul DeJoria

John Paul DeJoria of John Paul Mitchell Systems was honored by the elite salon owners of Intercoiffure America/Canada with their prestigious “Visionary of the Year” Award at the annual Members Trend Luncheon on October 19 in New York City.

Intercoiffure America/Canada (ICA) established the “Visionary of the Year” Award in 2007 to recognize extraordinary individual achievements in influencing business or creative trends in the beauty industry. “John Paul DeJoria’s ongoing accomplishments in business and philanthropy are exactly what this award is all about,” says ICA president Lois Christie. “The Board of Directors and I are truly honored to be able to recognize DeJoria’s energy, generosity of spirit and business acumen.”

John Paul DeJoria and partner Paul Mitchell founded John Paul Mitchell Systems ( in 1980. Their goal was to build a company that not only provided hairdressers with the best professional products but also provided business tools to help their professional customers be successful.

Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)